Photos

Photographer's Note

Toedhadh in Gaelic- Tod Head Lighthose near Catterline. Tod probably means burn or fox in this example.
The lighthouse was started built in 1894, first light was given in December 1897, and year after that the fog signal came into operation. In 1973 was first change of the paraffin vapour burner to electric lamp. In 1988 lighthouse was automated. Permanently it was switched off on 11 July 2007, after 110 years work.

Some data:
Tower 41 meters
Range (light) 18 miles

dta, asajernigan, raszid62, SnapRJW, dip has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1153
Points: 22
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Bartlomiej Przezdziecki (bartekp) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 319 W: 2 N: 274] (4746)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH