Photos

Photographer's Note

Another view of Mussenden Temple in close up to show the scale of the building. Built in 1785 by Frederick Agustus Hervey 4th Earl of Bristol, Bishop of Derry. The frieze around the top just below the domed roof has an inscription that reads:

Tis pleasant,safely to behold from shore
The rolling ship,and hear the tempest roar.

siudzi, mjw364, ikeharel, Sonata11, tyro, ourania, mcmtanyel has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 564
Points: 22
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Arthur Butcher (Kugart) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 265 W: 0 N: 536] (1778)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH