Photos

Photographer's Note

This mill on the River Avon has remained in a ruined state for many years. Beneath the rusting corrugated iron part of the building, the water wheel can just be seen.

"A mill on this site was first mentioned in 1585, and by 1712 it had expanded into two water powered grist mills and a water powered fulling mill, all under one roof. A few years later the fulling mill was being used as a mill for grinding dyestuffs for dyeing wool, but by 1737 it was again used as a fulling mill for felting and thickening the cloth.

It is likely that the grist mill part was demolished when the railway line was built in the valley, and from 1845 the fulling mill was converted to a grist mill with an undershot water wheel. From 1880 to the First World War the mill was used in the flock (bedding) business".


Bibliography:
Wiltshire and Somerset Woollen Mills, by K.H. Rogers.
http://www.wiltshire.gov.uk/community/getfaq.php?id=181

Shot in RAW - 1/15sec f3.7 ISO 200
76mm focal length [35mm equivalent]
Converted with Fuji Hyper Utility software
PP in PS Elements 1 and FastStone Image viewer

saxo042, snunney, dougie, philsim, macondo has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1272
Points: 12
Discussions
Additional Photos by Peter Geldart (graffer) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 317 W: 539 N: 481] (1800)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH