Photos

Photographer's Note

The village of Craster owes its name to the Craster family.

The first mention of the family is reference to William de Craucetr holding the estate in 1272.

Craster Tower, listed in a survey of forts carried out in 1415, is a strong rectangular stone 15th century tower, of two storeys with a vaulted basement.

The present building has been little changed since that date.

It was the Craster family who built the present harbour in 1906 in memory of Captain John Craster who was killed during active service in India, in 1904.

tyro, Kielia has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 794
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by marion morgan (jester5) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 96 W: 66 N: 582] (1960)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH