Photos

Photographer's Note

Duddington, about five miles south of Stamford, was originally situated within the old Rockingham Forest and a settlement was recorded in the Domesday survey of 1086.

The approaches to the village are particularly attractive. From the west the road from Leicester crosses the river Welland over an ancient bridge, medieval in origin, and passes by the 17th century watermill with its mansard roofs.

There are many lovely buildings in the village, among them the early 17th century manor. This can be glimpsed from the road through its wrought iron gateways, nestling in its enchanted garden which sweeps down to the banks of the river. Duddington was originally an agricultural community centred on the manor, but although many of the farm buildings remain their usage has changed and most of them are restored as residential properties.

The parish church of St Mary is most notable for its 12th and 13th century architecture and the abnormal siting of its tower -on the south side. This probably occurred because of falling ground on the west wide where the slope to the river begins. Inside there remain some boxed pews, many retaining their 17th century panelling, and a large number of monuments to commemorate the Jackson family from the manor.

The adjacent Church Farm still has a two-cell 18th century dovecote with 800 nesting boxes and from 1775 until 1834 it was the parish workhouse.

NB
The village information above is taken from the Northamptonshire Villages book, written by members of Northamptonshire County Federation of Women's Institutes and published by Countryside Books. Click on the link below to view Countryside's range of other local titles.

Kofman, tyro, delpeoples has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1392
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by marion morgan (jester5) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 96 W: 66 N: 583] (1968)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH