Photos

Photographer's Note

Coldridge was known as Coleridge even up to the early 1900's, it is a small parish situated on the River Taw, 10 miles from the ancient market town of Crediton. Coldridge was mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086, as Colrige - it would appear that Coldridges existence as a settlement, dates back to at least Norman times and possibly even earlier. Its name is believed to have derived from the "ridge where charcoal is made" and the fact that it is thought the area was once woodland, this is possibly an accurate description of how the parish got its name.

With no main road going through the village it gives that feeling of times standing still with a quiet relaxing and peaceful atmosphere.

http://www.coldridge-village.co.uk/

This area of Mid Devon is well suited to growing a variety of wheat that is used locally and beyond for thatching roofs.




Thatch was the most common form of roof covering everywhere in Britain until the end of the medieval period and it remained the practical solution for many roofs in rural areas until the mid 19th Century.

Materials for thatching were those types of vegetation found readily at hand; wheat straw was the most widely used until the introduction of the combine harvester and the new varieties of shorter stemmed wheat in the 1950s. Long straw, combed wheat reed (Devon reed) and water reed (Norfolk reed), together with sedge as a ridging material, are the forms of thatch in most general use today. Heather remains in some areas; flax and rye are sometimes seen sandwiched as middle coats in old roofs.

http://www.eamta.co.uk/materials.htm

snunney, timecapturer, trevormoffiet, ChrisJ, nikkitta has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 388
Points: 16
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Leslie Bennett (williewhistler) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1043 W: 41 N: 1920] (13741)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH