Photos

Photographer's Note

The Bridge of Sighs, St. John's College, Cambridge, from the Kitchen Bridge over the River Cam.

The Bridge of Sighs in Cambridge is a covered bridge belonging to St John's College of Cambridge University. It was built in 1831 and crosses the River Cam between the college's Third Court and New Court. The architect was Henry Hutchinson. It is named after the Bridge of Sighs in Venice, although they have little architecturally in common beyond the fact that they are both covered. The bridge is one of Cambridge's main tourist attractions and Queen Victoria is said to have loved it more than any other spot in the city.

A common myth states that it was the students who named this bridge "bridge of sighs", as it is supposedly on the route from their accommodation to the exam rooms. This belief probably has much to do with the function of the bridge, linking two quadrangles of St John's College together.

On two separate occasions, students have pulled the prank of dangling a car under the bridge. In the first incident (in 1963), a 1928 Austin 7 was punted down the river using four punts that had been lashed together - then hoisted up under the bridge using ropes. The second incident (in 1968) a Bond or Reliant Regal three-wheeler car was dangled under the bridge. In neither case was the bridge damaged.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1936
Points: 10
Discussions
Additional Photos by Will Perrett (willperrett) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 482 W: 260 N: 1020] (5134)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH