Photos

Photographer's Note

The Bernardine church and monastery in Lviv is located in the city's Old Town, south of the market square. The monastery along with the Roman Catholic church of St. Andrew, today the Greek Catholic church of St. Andrew, now belong to the Order of St. Basil the Great.

The Franciscan Observantists, known in the region as Bernardines after their monastery in Krakow in order to distinguish them from Franciscan Conventuals, were invited to Lviv by Andrzej Odrowaz in 1460. In 1509 the monastery was plundered by the Moldovan hospodar Bagdan III cel Orb. In the 17th century the present day church and monastery were constructed in the same place in the style of Italian and Dutch mannerism and consecrated in 1630. As the complex was located outside Lviv's city walls it was equipped with its own fortifications from the east and south, most taken apart at the beginning of the 19th century. In 1733 square belfry was added to the complex and in 1736 a monument of Saint John of Dukla, who died in the monstery in 1484, was built in front of the church.

The interior was refurbished in the Baroque style in the years 1738-1740. The church managed to avoid being closed by the Austrian emperor Joseph II, although part of the monastery was taken over for the city archive. After the Second World War the church was closed by Soviets and fell into disuse until the collapse of the Soviet Union when it was returned to the faithful, since 1991 the complex is under the care of Ukrainian Greek Catholic Basilian Order and has undrgone thorough renovation.

[The tower at the walls has been called the Hlyniany Gate].
Source: Wikipedia

dta, Angshu has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 958
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Zbigniew Kalinowski (fotka) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 315 W: 5 N: 531] (2929)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH