Photos

Photographer's Note

The chapel of Gueulaz is dedicated to Our-Lady-of-Snows, it was built between 1975 and 1976 to replace the old chapel of Émosson drowned by water of the dam Émosson. The old chapel was set up in the middle of the plate of Émosson in 1750, the priest of Finhaut there celebrated each year a mass, the day of the blessing of the mountain pasture, for the rest of the heart of the unhappy combatants of the battle of Émosson, the former priest of Finhaut, Marcel Michellod, contributed much to the construction of the new vault.

La chapelle de la Gueulaz est dédiée à Notre-Dame-des-Neiges, elle a été construite entre 1975 et 1976 pour remplacer l’ancienne chapelle d’Émosson noyée par les eaux du barrage d’Émosson.

L’ancienne chapelle fut érigée au milieu du plateau d’Émosson en 1750, le curé de Finhaut y célébra chaque année une messe, le jour de la bénédiction de l’alpage, pour le repos de l’âme des malheureux combattants de la bataille d’Émosson, l’ancien curé de Finhaut, Marcel Michellod, contribua beaucoup à la construction de la nouvelle chapelle.

RhodieIke, InasiaJones, SnapRJW, rmajum, patdeph, vasilpro, gildasjan has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2172
Points: 30
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Jean Jacques Cordier (jjcordier) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 6431 W: 239 N: 10545] (70567)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH