Photos

Photographer's Note

This is the old monastery located adjacent to the Roman Catholic Church.
Interlaken’s former monastery complete with castle and castle church is situated close to the town centre.
The first mention of Interlaken’s Augustinian monastery in an official document dates back to 1133. After the Reformation c. 1525, ownership of the entire monastery complex was transferred to the state of Bern, and the monastery was converted into a hospital. Religious services were held only as of 1841. The bell tower of the former monastery church dates from the early 14th century. The Gothic cloister gallery in the former monastery courtyard with its chapel dating from 1452 are well worth seeing. (Interlaken.ch)

Photo Information
Viewed: 733
Points: 58
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Asa Jernigan (asajernigan) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 3613 W: 89 N: 5511] (21132)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH