Photos

Photographer's Note

Hello,

Voici une seconde vue du village d'Erlach. Une photographie plus globale mais également plus profonde !
Le regard peut plonger vers le lac de Bienne en longeant l'île Saint Pierre (qui est en fait une presqu'île).

L'île Saint-Pierre, au même titre que Môtiers dans le Val de Travers, a accueilli Jean-Jacques Rousseau en 1765.
Il quitte Môtiers en juillet de cette année pour passer 3 mois sur l'Île.

L'endroit est appelé "île" car avant la correction des eaux du Jura, le niveau des lacs étaient plus haut
de 3 mètres. Toute la presqu'île était invisible et seules dépassaient l'île saint Pierre et l'île des Lapins.
De 1868 à 1891 les travaux de la première correction des eaux du Jura font faire apparaître cette presqu'île.
Elle reliera dés lors les îles et Erlach.

English version :

Hello,

Here a second sight of the village of Erlach.
A photograph including a greater part of the landscape
The glance can plunge towards the Lake of Bienne while skirting the Saint-Pierre island (which is in fact a peninsula).
The Saint-Pierre island, as well as Môtiers in the Val de Travers, accomodated Jean-Jacques Rousseau in 1765.
He leaves Môtiers in July of this year to spend 3 months on the Island.

The place is called "island" because before the correction of water of the Jura, the level of the lakes were higher of 3 meters.
All the peninsula was invisible and only the Saint-Pierre island and the "île des Lapins" exceeded.

From 1868 to 1891, the works of the first correction of water of the Jura makes reveal this peninsula.
It will connect dice at the time the islands and Erlach.

A+

Photo Information
Viewed: 3864
Points: 119
Discussions
Additional Photos by Dominique TSCHANTZ (cbrman) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 3121 W: 263 N: 4841] (21645)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH