Photos

Photographer's Note

Monasterio de San Juan de los Reyes in Toledo. Founded by King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella to commemorate their triumph over the Portuguese at Toro in 1476, the church was started in 1477. It was finished, together with the cloisters, in 1504, dedicated to St. John the Evangelist, and used from the beginning by the Franciscan friars. An example of Gothic-Spanish-Flemish style, San Juan de los Reyes was restored after the damage caused during Napoleon's invasion and after its abandonment in 1835. Since 1954 it has been entrusted again to the Franciscans. This is taken from the church with the door in the background leading to the beautiful two storey cloisters.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 676
Points: 14
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Chris Whitley (chriswhitley) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 134 W: 31 N: 177] (2027)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH