Photos

Photographer's Note

The Celic Dere Monastery is situated in Frecatei Commune, in Tulcea County and is one of the most well known monasteries in Dobrogea, considered the center of Orthodoxism of the area.
It is named after the nearby river, which translated from Turkish means “River of Steel”. According to the existing documents, the first church was built here at the beginning of the 19th century by the bishop Athanasie Lisivencof. Today, a cemetery can be found on this land. The people that built the church were priests from Transylvania and Basarabia, who had lived on the Athos Mountain, in Greece.
The little church burnt around the 1840s, the sultan Abdul-Medgid (1839-1861) from Constantinople approved to the building of a new church. Thus, in 1846, the first church was built, with “The Assumption of the Holy Virgin” as its dedication day and a chapel with “The Holy Archangels Michael and Gabriel” as its dedication day.

mirosu, timecapturer has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Alexandru Olteanu (alex4ndru) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Silver Note Writer [C: 200 W: 20 N: 46] (1374)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2012-04-16
  • Categories: Daily Life
  • Exposure: f/7.1, 1/160 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2012-04-20 6:03
Viewed: 531
Points: 10
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Alexandru Olteanu (alex4ndru) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Silver Note Writer [C: 200 W: 20 N: 46] (1374)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH