Photos

Photographer's Note

The Church of “St. Nicholas of the Princes”, built between 1491-1492 by the Moldavian ruler Stephen the Great (1457-1504) and renovated between 1890 – 1904 by the French architect André Lecomte du Nouy, is the oldest building in Iaşi preserved until today. Because it stands next to the Princely Court and because most of the Moldavian Princes were crowned here, from Despot Vodǎ (1511-1563) to Alexandru Ioan Cuza (1859-1866), the church received the surname “of the Princes”.

wojtpod, paninho has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Ionut Vrabie (vrabieionut) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 159 W: 0 N: 333] (2189)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Black & White
  • Date Taken: 2010-08-28
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Exposure: f/4, 1/180 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2011-05-10 11:59
Viewed: 1061
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ionut Vrabie (vrabieionut) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 159 W: 0 N: 333] (2189)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH