Photos

Photographer's Note

"The construction of the church and convent of Carmel began in 1685, and is evidence of the Baroque style. The convent was dedicated to Santa Teresa, by ignoring its founder.
Early in 1700, a papal bull authorizing those collected from Santa Teresa to take the veil of religious Discalced Carmelites, now under the invocation of St. Joseph, however, the high altar was occupied by the image of Our Lady of Mount Carmel - Invocation most common and well known.
The body of the church is divided from the chancel by an arch of stone, and is enriched by two side altars: the Gospel, dedicated to Santa Ana, the Epistle of the Our ??Lady of Mount Carmel. In ancient chorus there is another altar, dedicated to Lord Dead, modern upright by private initiative and devotion.
officer With the extinction of the religious orders, the church and convent passed into the possession of the State, the military use. From 1862, the building passed to accept the current Home to Santa Estefania."

http://www.waymarking.com/waymarks/WMH0G9_Igreja_do_Carmo_Guimares_Portugal

ikeharel, Noel_Byrne has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 542
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Jean Philippe TUR (tenretin) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 166 W: 7 N: 313] (2211)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH