Photos

Photographer's Note

Funchal has had a number of different Town Halls since the first one was built in 1486.

Today’s Town Hall, located in the Rua dos Ferreiros, is an excellent example of civil architecture from the 18th century. This property was purchased from the Carvalhal Esmeraldo family in 1883.

The highlights of this building are its impressive doorway carved in grey stone and its magnificent reception area on the first floor with eleven windows, each of them equipped with its own balcony. On the ground floor a splendid staircase makes the connection between the entrance lobby the reception area on the first floor. An arch leads from the lobby to a beautiful interior yard where one can see the marble statue of ‘Leda and the Swan’. It is the interior courtyard that can be seen here.

(Source: Madeira-Web website)

Photo Information
Viewed: 826
Points: 44
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 8983 W: 63 N: 25271] (112477)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH