Photos

Photographer's Note

Building of the church of Sao Pedro commenced in 1590 and was expected to be complete six years later. As things turned out it was not completed until well into the eighteenth century. This was due to all the alterations, extensions and improvements that were made to the original plans. The building consists of a single nave with three lateral chapels and two collateral altars.

Glazed tiles from the 17th century cover almost all the interior walls from the bottom to the top, not only in the nave and the chancel but also in the sacristies. Paintings, jewellery and furniture from the 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th centuries complete the interior decoration.

Information taken from the Madeira-Web website.

Photo Information
Viewed: 581
Points: 34
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9000 W: 63 N: 25307] (112639)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH