Photos

Photographer's Note

RABSZTYN – the ruins of the Gothic castle lie on a high, lime rock surrounded by trees near to Olkusz’s town centre. It was erected in the 14th century by a wealthy Toporczyk family. However, the castle owes its name to Jan Rabsztynski, 16th century governor who turned the whole village from a wooden fort into a modern settlement. At the turn of the 17th century a much larger Renaissance lower castle-palace was built next to the medieval Gothic stronghold. In 1657 Swedes burned the Rabsztyn castle. Only the fragments of the walls of the living headquarters and the entrance have survived until present times.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1179
Points: 14
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Artur Turyna (sixTL) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 650 W: 0 N: 638] (8596)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH