Photos

Photographer's Note

Building fire brigade on Ksiezy Mlyn

£ód¼ is a truly fascinating, magical city. One of the most intriguing places in Poland, Ksiê¿y M³yn (Priest's Mill) underwent a massive overhaul and is now open to the public. Ksiê¿y M³yn was first mentioned in 1484 in reference to a mill built on the Jasien River in 1387. The original complex was burnt to the ground on May 9, 1822 . In 1854 the 28-year-old Belgian-German Karol Scheibler arrived in £ód¼. Scheibler opened a modern factory and was soon leaving the competition behind. Here Scheibler built not only mills, but an entire gasworks to light his factories and the neighbouring workers’ houses too - the first private gasworks in the city. In 1875 Scheibler added several two-story houses for his workers and opened a school for their children. At the height of its existence in 1879, £ód¼’s Ksiê¿y M³yn included all of the above plus more residential buildings and a wall around the entire complex that was locked at night. In 1881 Karol Scheibler died. Ksiê¿y M³yn continued to grow, with the opening of a hospital (again another first, this being the first factory hospital in Poland), and on June 20, 1884, £ód¼’s first voluntary fire brigade unit was founded inside Scheibler’s factory.

Who will visit Lodz?

ikeharel, danos, tedesse, jhm, kato, pierrefonds has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Piotr Fagasiewicz (PiotrF) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 900 W: 1 N: 1516] (9794)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2014-05-00
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2014-05-09 11:16
Viewed: 538
Points: 24
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Piotr Fagasiewicz (PiotrF) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 900 W: 1 N: 1516] (9794)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH