Photos

Photographer's Note

View of the backside and pard from Het Loo Palace (Dutch: Paleis Het Loo), meaning "The Woods Palace". The symmetrical Dutch Baroque building was designed by Jacob Roman and Johan van Swieten and was built between 1684 and 1686 for stadtholder-king William III and Mary II of England. The garden was designed by Claude Desgotz.

The palace was a residence of the House of Orange-Nassau from the 17th century until the death of Queen Wilhelmina in 1962. The building was renovated between 1976 and 1982. Since 1984, the palace is a state museum open for the general public, showing interiors with original furniture, objects and paintings of the House of Orange-Nassau.

jhm, delpeoples, delpeoples has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 699
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by JWM Hendrikx (janneman) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 326 W: 0 N: 226] (2476)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH