Photos

Photographer's Note

Xewkija is a village on Gozo Island, Malta. The population of Xewkija is 3,305 (March 2013), that is the fourth largest in Gozo, after Victoria (6,911), Xag?ra (4,876) and Nadur (4,520).

The village, which is situated between G?ajnsielem and the capital city, Victoria, is the oldest in Gozo. It became the first parish outside Victoria on 27 November 1678. It was separated from the Matrix by Bishop Glormu Molina and Dun Grezz Farrugia from Valletta, became its first parish priest. It became the first district 'contrada' to be known as 'casale' or village.

The name is derived from the Maltese word "Xewk", meaning "thistles" or "thorns". Xewkija is famous for its church, The Rotunda (seen here mid-frame) , which is dedicated to St. John the Baptist. It is the Seat of the Knights of the Order of St. John, and was built from Maltese stone by local masons and craftsmen, replacing an older church. It is the largest in Gozo and its dome dominates the village. The architect was Joseph D'Amato.

A marble slab of Majmuna with an Arabic inscription dating back to 1173 was found in Xewkija. It commemorates the death of an Arab girl named Sarah, who died in Xewkija. The inscription is carved in a thick marble slab, on the underside of which there is a pagan symbol. Brother Gabrijel D'Alappo translated it into Italian and it was later translated into Maltese. It was sent to the Public Library in Malta in 1845 and brought to the Gozo National Museum in 1960.

(Source: Wikipedia)

Captured from a moving vehicle, so little time to properly compose the shot.

ikeharel, timecapturer, jhm, ourania, pierrefonds, mirosu, Cricri, ChrisJ, PiotrF has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 534
Points: 36
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 6239 W: 61 N: 18168] (81849)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH