Photos

Photographer's Note

These are the ruins of the oldest stone church in Latvia. It was built in 1184 AD. From here St. Meinard started to spread christianity all over Livonia.
This church was destroyed in 1916 during WWI.
In 1975 when they started to build dam of Riga hydropower station, the place where the ruins stand became an island - now it has a name of the man who built the church - St. Meinard's island.
Once a year when some minor construction is going on in Riga hydropower station and the water level is lowered, it is possible to get on the island by feet - like it once was...

Zanni, bazal, Pompey, cedryk, pamastro has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 5442
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Armands Brants (brants) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 53 W: 5 N: 13] (259)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH