Photos

Photographer's Note

House of Blackheads (Melngalvju nams) one of the architectural treasures of Riga. It was rebuilt in honor of the city's 800th anniversary in 2001. Dating from 1344 it was destroyed in 1941. The Soviets completely pulled down the ruins in 1948, because it was considered to represent "decadent" German architecture. A striking Gothic building with a Dutch Renaissance facade, it was used to house traveling single members of the merchants' guild. Their patrons was St. Mauricius, therefore it gained the name of Blackheads' organization. By the way this building was not only a meeting place, but it was used as an excellent concert hall as well, R. Wagner and F. List visited this place. Today the building contains a tourist office, a cafe, a souvenir shop and a museum.

On the left side of the photo is St. Peter's church.

tedesse has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1064
Points: 16
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Zbigniew Kalinowski (fotka) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 344 W: 5 N: 636] (3343)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH