Photos

Photographer's Note

CASTLE TOWERS

From the top of an isolated hill overlooking the valley below , crossed the road S.Terenziano - Mercatello . its origins go back to the Stone Age , the period to which they refer numerous findings of scrapers, knives, hatchets polished green stone , arrowheads , javelin and dagger . (weapons made from a hard stone called flint ) . The castle was founded in 1250 with the name of Cerqueto , as surrounded by a vast forest of oaks, subsequently took on its current name for the building of a strong walls with towers angular suitable for defensive purposes and palombara . Un'arcuata door, surmounted by the crest of the eagle Todi , enter inside, where there are houses leaning to the circle perimeter . Ugolino III came to power after the death of his uncle Corrado XII, continued the policy of control of the territory on behalf of the Holy See ; confirmed peace with Perugia for another hundred years. Before 1500 there were 33 families Towers , often in constant bickering between them, so that the various popes alternately subdued in Gualdo Cattaneo and Todi. After the restoration was enfeoffed to S.Terenziano and aggregate from 1861 to the town of Gualdo Cattaneo.

ourania, elenimavrandoni, dip, snunney, pierrefonds, abmdsudi, omid266 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9345 W: 132 N: 18007] (117063)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2014-04-21
  • Exposure: f/14.0, 1/800 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2014-04-28 9:23
Viewed: 665
Points: 50
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9345 W: 132 N: 18007] (117063)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH