Photos

Photographer's Note

The first station was built in 1868, but the current building was opened in 1905 for the Genoa international exposition A project proposal was presented in 1902 by the engineer Giovanni Ottino that provided for a building for a 105 metre long, divided into three buildings on a central axis of symmetry. The building incorporates romantic "renaissance" themes of the of the French school of architecture, enriched by extensive decorations. The pilaster jambs and frames of the first floor are mostly white. The Roman-style facade, overlooking Piazza Verdi, is decorated with stucco and stone from the quarries of Montorfano. The walls of the rooms inside are decorated with frescoes by De Servi, Berroggio and Grifo.

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9326 W: 132 N: 17967] (116809)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2010-04-07
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Exposure: f/3.5, 1/15 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2010-04-09 6:14
  • Favorites: 1 [view]
Viewed: 3239
Points: 50
Discussions
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9326 W: 132 N: 17967] (116809)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH