Photos

Photographer's Note

Castle of rocchette
Ancient castle that still stands well preserved on a high hill, mentioned for the first time in a document from 1295 as belonging to the heirs of Zurcio Gottofredi .
In 1339 it was restored by Anthony Mariano of the nobles of Castelvecchio. In other documents of 1400 is mentioned as the Rock of Angiolo of Mattiolo .
Inside the castle the small chapel dedicated to the " Blessed Virgin Mary under the invocation of the Holy Conception" , was already built in 1568 , when it was visited by the Bishop of Todi Angelo Cesi, who found it in perfect condition, on May 6. Featuring an unusual double apse , consists of a small hall from the irregular geometry , covered with a single flap has an interesting cycle of frescoes of the sixteenth century , in need of restoration , including one depicting the Madonna and Child , which protects the devil with a stick from which the name of " Our Lady of Tortoro ." The exterior walls are now plastered ; the entrance is through a simple wooden door , placed on two stone steps outside .

Royaldevon, photoray, pierrefonds has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 557
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9436 W: 132 N: 18215] (118290)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH