Photos

Photographer's Note

CASTLE Grutti
It is believed that the town was founded ( along with San Terenziano) in the Augustan period by Roman settlers . The Castle The town's name derives from caves or Grott'ombra , the terms in which it is designated in the Middle Ages and later , due to the area full of tunnels and caves carved into the rock of travertine that extends to S. Terenziano ; In the past , these were used as a shelter for animals , or even as a bomb shelter during World War II . Some documents indicate that these places were used by early Christians in the catacombs to take refuge , the followers of St. Terenziano bishop of Todi . The castle dates back to the ' eleventh century , in 1126 it was surrounded by solid walls by Ghibelline lords . In 1347 he was considered "villa" and counted 16 families . Nearby stands the old abbey church of S. Maria di Agello , built before the castle. The place was very dear to Angelo Cesi , Bishop of Todi, who did perform some restoration . The medieval structure still standing today some towers that dominate large sections of walls . The dwellings of the ancient castle are used as warehouses and cellars.
Today Grutti has just over 500 inhabitants

snunney, ikeharel, Didi, jjcordier, omid266 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9361 W: 132 N: 18049] (117355)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2014-04-18
  • Categories: Castles, Architecture
  • Exposure: f/9.0, 1/320 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2014-04-20 4:05
Viewed: 683
Points: 18
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9361 W: 132 N: 18049] (117355)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH