Photos

Photographer's Note

CASTLE Grutti
It is believed that the town was founded ( along with San Terenziano) in the Augustan period by Roman settlers . The Castle The town's name derives from caves or Grott'ombra , the terms in which it is designated in the Middle Ages and later , due to the area full of tunnels and caves carved into the rock of travertine that extends to S. Terenziano ; In the past , these were used as a shelter for animals , or even as a bomb shelter during World War II . Some documents indicate that these places were used by early Christians in the catacombs to take refuge , the followers of St. Terenziano bishop of Todi . The castle dates back to the ' eleventh century , in 1126 it was surrounded by solid walls by Ghibelline lords . In 1347 he was considered "villa" and counted 16 families . Nearby stands the old abbey church of S. Maria di Agello , built before the castle. The place was very dear to Angelo Cesi , Bishop of Todi, who did perform some restoration . The medieval structure still standing today some towers that dominate large sections of walls . The dwellings of the ancient castle are used as warehouses and cellars.
Today Grutti has just over 500 inhabitants

cornejo, kathryn_weir, elenimavrandoni, jjcordier has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9521 W: 132 N: 18458] (119605)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2014-04-18
  • Categories: Castles, Architecture
  • Exposure: f/5.0, 1/100 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2014-04-19 0:25
Viewed: 994
Points: 38
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9521 W: 132 N: 18458] (119605)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH