Photos

Photographer's Note

... in the adjacent cloister of the Cathedral of San Lorenzo. Built in the second half of the twelfth century as the residence of the canons of the Cathedral, suffered the first changes around the middle of the sixteenth century with the slate framing of the doors of the upper gallery. Date back to 1653 the raising of two floors and the subsequent replacement of the Romanesque arcades with arches wider and more massive. In 1923 he was abandoned and sold to the City. Dates back to 1986, the last renovation of the 'whole complex, now home to the Diocesan Museum, a museum that is worth a visit to understand the transformation of Genoa between the Roman and the 700. Extraordinary is the collection of religious paintings on fabrics precursors of jeans in use today.

cornejo, clic has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Ely Gaetani (elysan) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 13 W: 0 N: 47] (230)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2012-11-27
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Exposure: f/3.5, 1/13 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2013-09-21 6:40
Viewed: 482
Points: 10
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ely Gaetani (elysan) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 13 W: 0 N: 47] (230)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH