Photos

Photographer's Note

Quintodecimo is a fraction of Acquasanta Terme, situated along the Via Salaria. Until 1865 was a separate municipality.
In the Middle Ages is attested belonging to the Duchy of Spoleto until 1084 and later in March of Ancona, the ecclesiastical province of the state, where it was always common.
After moving to the Kingdom of Italy, it lost its independence on 1 January 1866, the commencement of the Royal Decree of 10 December 1865, being incorporated in the territory of Acquasanta.
The territory of Quintodecimo is part of the National Park of Gran Sasso and Monti della Laga.
The most important monuments are the following:
Church of the Blessed Virgin of the Plains: the Romanesque style, with sixteenth-century alterations and renovations in the twentieth century; on the front keeps a rose window and a portal dated 1439; the interior has paintings of Augusto Mussini friar; the bell tower, finally, is the beginning of the twentieth century.
Church of SS. Crucifix: Once known as Santa Maria della Forcella, is entirely built of stone; preserves a wooden crucifixion of the fifteenth century, a ciborium resting on marble columns and a travertine portal, dated 1562; instead of the bell tower of the late nineteenth century.
Stone bridge over Tronto: Designed in 1622 by 'architect Celso Shoulderbag Ascoli, was finished in 1630.

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9324 W: 132 N: 17959] (116763)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2014-08-17
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Exposure: f/5.6, 1/15 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2014-08-31 0:26
Viewed: 309
Points: 72
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9324 W: 132 N: 17959] (116763)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH