The complex interior of the oval dome is inset with coffered shapes that decrease in size the higher they progress, making it reminiscent of a honeycomb. The light gives it a fragile, airy, almost feminine character which is quite unique.
The Church of Saint Charles at the Four Fountains was the first independent commission for the brilliant but troubled Francesco Borromini. It is a part of a monastic complex on the Quirinal Hill, constructed for the Spanish Trinitarians. It is situated at the southwest corner of the Quattro Fontane, or four fountains set at the intersection of two main roads, the Strada Pia and the Strada Felice. Main construction occurred from 1638-1641, but it was not totally completed until after his death in 1667.
Nobody has marked this note useful