Photos

Photographer's Note

A coal burning beacon was established at Howth Head in 1667 by Sir Robert Reading. Charles II granted him letters patent to build 6 lighthouses around the coast of Ireland. Ceremonies in March of 1997, attended by the public and lighthouse officials at the Baily Lighthouse at Howth Head officially ended the era of manned stations around and along the Irish coast. Baily was the last Irish lighthouse to go automatic. The optic which was in use from 1902 to 1972 is now on display in the National Maritime Museum of Ireland.

timecapturer, Noel_Byrne has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1973
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Alex Lukawski (adventurer) Silver Note Writer [C: 4 W: 0 N: 33] (264)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH