Photos

Photographer's Note

Pictured here is sunset over Trim castle at the beginning of a heavy winter snow in 2010.

Trim castle has an area of 30,000 square metres and is the remains of the largest Anglo Norman castle in Ireland. It was built by Hugh De Lacy and his son Walter. This site was chosen because it is on raised ground, overlooking the river. This area was a very important medieval religious and royal site. It was built between 1172 and 1243

Depite the fact that Trim is 25 miles from the Irish sea, ships in medieval times ships were able to sail all the way up the river Boyne to make land and delivery of goods to the castle and the town. The town predates the having grown around a monastery founded in the early 5th century.

The central keep of the castle is unique in that is cruciform in shape, and has 20 corners. The site of the castle is complimented by the surviving curtain walls. The north and west sides of the site were defended by huge rectangular towers dating back to the 1170's.In this shot, the ruin in the centre of the shot is the main entrance gate to the castle today for tourists, but in its heyday the main entrance would have been via the Barbican gate (not seen here) with its moat and huge portcullis.


The castle found fame in the Mel Gibson movie "Braveheart", as it was a main set for the making of the fim.

The tall spire of St Patricks Church visible to the right of the main keep marks another site of interest in Trim. Built in 1900, the church is Gothic Revival, and is a very dominating building in the town. Raised on a hill overlooking the castle, the church features beautiful grounds including a grotto, as well as stunning Celtic mosaic work around the altar, and stained glass windows which depict the crucifixion and the history of Trim town.

Under the protection of Trim Castle, Medievel times saw the growth of the Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul, at one time the largest Gothic cathedral in the country and the townload of Newtown Trim. This area gave rise to St Johns Priory also. Both of these sites are now in ruins, and open to visitors.

Thanks for looking.

Thanks for looking.

Photo Information
Viewed: 842
Points: 42
Discussions
Additional Photos by Noel Byrne (Noel_Byrne) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2711 W: 15 N: 6495] (22773)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH