Photos

Photographer's Note

A moins d'une heure de route de Dublin, la Vallée de la Boyne entre Slane et Drogheda dans le comté de Meath abrite un ensemble archéologique exceptionnel classé au patrimoine mondial de l'Unesco depuis 1993. La vallée compte de nombreuses tombes mégalithiques, appelées tumulus, datées entre 35 et 32 siècles avant Jésus-Christ. Ces monuments sont donc plus anciens que les Pyramides d'Egypte ou que Stonehenge en Angleterre. Les plus connues se nomment Newgrange, Dowth et Knowth. Seuls Newgrange et Knowth sont ouverts au public. Et c'est cette dernière que vous pouvez voir sur la photo.

Le tumulus de Knowth est daté d'environ 5000 ans et a été restauré dans les années 70. Le tumulus a un diamètre de 67 mètres et mesure jusqu'à 12 mètres de haut. Il a la particularité d'être entouré de 17 tombes de taille plus réduite. Le tumulus comprend deux passages dont les entrées sont situées à l'est et à l'ouest du tumulus et qui mènent à deux chambres sépulcrales différentes. Le passage est, long de 40 mètres, est le plus long connu en Europe. Knowth est en particulier réputé pour l'incroyable richesse de son art mégalithique, des pierres gravées comme celle que vous pouvez apercevoir sur la droite. Les fouilles à Knowth ont permis de mettre à jour 200 pierres gravées, ce qui représente plus du tiers des exemples d'art mégalithique en Europe de l'Ouest !

Le site est accessible uniquement dans le cadre de visites guidées qui partent du Bru Na Boinne Visitor Centre situé près de Donore. Deux formules permettent de visiter soit Newgrange, soit Knowth, soit les deux, mais je vous recommande de visiter les deux tumulus. La visite guidée se fait en anglais, mais un anglais scolaire assez facile à comprendre pour les non anglophones. La visite guidée est passionnante et évoque les incroyables connaissances astronomiques et techniques mises en oeuvre pour construire ces monuments qui dépassent l'imagination. Songez que certains blocs de pierre de plusieurs tonnes ont été transportés depuis les Wicklow Mountains, environ 80 kilomètres au sud, avec les techniques de transport rudimentaires d'il y a 5000 ans !

rbassin trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 2680
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Olivier THIERRY (chawax) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1367 W: 21 N: 3239] (20760)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH

Photos

Photographer's Note

Less than one hour drive from Dublin, river Boyne Valley between Slane and Drogheda hosts one of the most incredible archaeological ensemble in the world, the most important prehistoric megalithic site in Europe. It is a World Heritage Site from 1993. It is a complex of Neolithic chamber tombs, standing stones, henges and other prehistoric enclosures, some dating from as early as 35th century BC - 32nd century BC. The sites here are older than Egypt Pyramids or Stonehenge in England ! The most known passage graves are Newgrange, Dowth and Knowth. But Newgrange and Knowth only are opened to public. The one on the photo is Knowth.

Knowth was built about 5,000 years ago and was restored in 70s. It consists of one large mound, 67m diameter and 12m height, and 17 smaller satellite mounds. Two passages from east and west drive to two chamber tombs in the middle of the mound. The east passage is 40m long, which makes it the longer in Europe. Knowth is famous for its rich megalithic art, decorated stones such as the one you can see on the right. Over 200 decorated stones were found in Knowth, which makes it more than the third of the total number of examples of megalithic art in all of Wester Europe !

Access to Knowth is by guided tour only. The tours start from Bru Na Boinne Visitor Centre close to Donore. You can visit either Newgrange, either Knowth, or both, and that is what I recommend. The tours are in english only but the guides are quite easy to understand for people who are not fully english fluent. The comments on the tour help you understand why this site is incredible, because of the astronomy or technics knowlegde involved in the building of the monument. Just imagine some of the stones used to build Knowth weight a few tons and they were conveyed from Wicklow Mountains, 80 km far from there, with the poor transport that existed 5,000 years ago !

worldcitizen, COSTANTINO, gildasjan, mkamionka, NickVu, Hansaphotos has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1956
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Olivier THIERRY (chawax) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1340 W: 28 N: 3034] (19206)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH