Photos

Photographer's Note

The whole top of this hill was a hill fort in Iron Age times. Later, Faughart is believed to have been the birthplace of St. Brighid (453 ad) - the patron saint of Ireland's blacksmiths, cattle and dairy workers. The site comprises a small mediaeval church in ruins, St. Brigid's bed, St. Brigid's Pillar (possibly the foundations of a round tower) and St. Brigid's Well (a place of pilgrimage for locals).
Because of its strategic position, Faughart has been the site of many important battles in Irish history. In 732, the King of Ulaidh, Aedh Roin, was defeated by the Northern Uí Néill and his head was cut off on the 'Stone of Decapitation' (Cloch an Commaigh) which is located near the door of the old church.
In 1318, Edward Bruce (brother of Robert, King of Scotland) made a bid for the kingship of Ireland and suffered a major defeat at Faughart. He was also decapitated and his headless body, it is said, is buried in the graveyard. His head was sent to the English King Edward II in London. Wonderful views to the Gap of the North (County Armagh), over Dundalk and its bay, the Cooley mountains and Slieve Gullion and the whole north-eastern quarter of the Republic can be seen from this hill.

vishaal has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Dee Mull (DeeMull) Silver Note Writer [C: 0 W: 0 N: 17] (112)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2010-07-11
  • Categories: Daily Life
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2011-01-28 5:57
Viewed: 2892
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Dee Mull (DeeMull) Silver Note Writer [C: 0 W: 0 N: 17] (112)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH