Photos

Photographer's Note

Relaxation and entertainment in Nagyvázsony

The chapel which can be seen in the background was being built in 1796. The photo was taken on the Nagyvázsony cultural days. They organize several interesting programs at this time.

Nagyvázsony

The village is first mentioned in a charter of 1233. Its name comes from the Váson clan, a dynasty which died out in 1472. King Matthias then gifted the estate to his favourite follower Pál Kinizsi, the military leader who had once been a miller's hand, a hero of legendary strength who defeated the Turkish. Kinizsi had it built into a residential castle.
During the Turkish occupation Nagyvázsony acted as a border fortress. In the 1700's it functioned as a manorial prison, then it was turned into a distillery for pálinka (Hungarian spirit) until it later became a home to elderly domestic servants.
By the 19th century the buildings around the keep had collapsed. The excavations of the Kinizsi Castle began in 1954. Among the old walls castle tournaments are held in the summer as a tourist spectacle.
The Pauline monastery and church were built by Pál Kinizsi from the spoils of the victorious Battle at Kenyérmező in the mid-1480's. The ruins can still be seen in the village.
The mansion of the area's last landlords, the Zichy family, was built in the 18th century and still stands. Its protected ancient park of 12 hectares has rarities like the 32-metre high, 200-year old trees.(Source: Vendégváró)

snunney, sandpiper, besnard, dta, holmertz, saxo042, jlbrthnn, adores, vasilpro, siamesa has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1347
Points: 46
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by George Rumpler (Budapestman) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 8900 W: 3 N: 20435] (82620)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH