Photos

Photographer's Note

Rural calmness, Nagyvázsony

There are few regions in the world as beautiful as that surrounding Nagyvázsony. To the North is one of the tallest mountains of the Bakony, Kab-hegy rising to 600 metres, to the South one can enjoy the scenic beauties of the villages on the hillsides surrounding the uplands of the Lake Balaton. The harmony of the landscape has captured many, according to archaeologists man has been living here since before the Stone Age.

The village is first mentioned in a charter of 1233. Its name comes from the Váson clan, a dynasty which died out in 1472. King Matthias then gifted the estate to his favourite follower Pál Kinizsi, the military leader who had once been a miller's hand, a hero of legendary strength who defeated the Turkish. Kinizsi had it built into a residential castle.
During the Turkish occupation Nagyvázsony acted as a border fortress. In the 1700's it functioned as a manorial prison, then it was turned into a distillery for pálinka (Hungarian spirit) until it later became a home to elderly domestic servants.
By the 19th century the buildings around the keep had collapsed. The excavations of the Kinizsi Castle began in 1954. Among the old walls castle tournaments are held in the summer as a tourist spectacle.
The Pauline monastery and church were built by Pál Kinizsi from the spoils of the victorious Battle at Kenyérmező in the mid-1480's. The ruins can still be seen in the village.
The mansion of the area's last landlords, the Zichy family, was built in the 18th century and still stands. Its protected ancient park of 12 hectares has rarities like the 32-metre high, 200-year old trees.(Source: Vendégváró)

Photo Information
Viewed: 1072
Points: 50
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by George Rumpler (Budapestman) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 8900 W: 3 N: 20435] (82620)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH