Photos

Photographer's Note

Peaceful sunny afternoon

Lutheran church (Evangélikus templom), Kőszeg

Following the loss of its church during the counter-reformation, the congregation built the present late-Baroque church in 1783. Amongst the treasures of the church are the Baroque organ, the 1560 altar bible and the 1568 communion cup.
The Classical extension was achieved around 1840. The wooden ornamentation of the gallery running along the interior of the church is in a late Rococo and early Classical style. The altar and the pulpit, however, were made in the first half of the 19th century in Empire style.
The late Baroque altarpiece depicting the scene of the Last Supper is the work of an anonymous painter.

Kőszeg

The small town with nearly 12,000 residents, with sub-alpine climate, is situated at the foothills of the Alps. The settlement and its vicinity at the foot of the Kőszeg hills, in the valley of the brook Gyöngyös has been inhabited since the 6th-7th centuries. In the 14th century it was given the rank of free royal town. The castle built in the13th century was named after captain Miklós Jurisics, who managed to hold up the Turkish troops advancing towards Vienna in 1532 with the help of the inhabitants. Its guilds, trade, vine growing and wine making, schools have a long history. The mediaeval town centre was not affected by the historical events, so inside the one-time town walls, the remains of which can still be seen, the houses have been preserved in their original form in Jurisics square and in the neighbouring streets.
(Source-www.Koszeg.hu & hungary.com)

Photo Information
Viewed: 1044
Points: 42
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by George Rumpler (Budapestman) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 8900 W: 3 N: 20435] (82620)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH