Photos

Photographer's Note

This lighthouse was manufactured in 1873.

The altitude of his octagon white stone tower is 23 metres and the height of focal plane is 78 metres.

The light first worked on with petroleum and the luminosity was 15 n. m. Located in east part of Gythio in a small island called as Kranai.

During the 2nd W.W. the light stayed dead until 1945 when Hellenic Navy decided to reconstruct the lighthouse network. On 1949 the Light operated with acetilene (Chance 800 m/m) and the luminocity was 9 n.m.

Photo Information
Viewed: 10467
Points: 70
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stathis Stathakis (stat) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 32 W: 33 N: 225] (2878)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH