Photos

Photographer's Note

The main gate of Chilandar monastery!

Hilandar is first mentioned in a Greek manuscript of 1015 as being "completely abandoned and empty", for which reason it was given to the monastery of Kastamonitou. It was certainly established a good hundred years earlier: a certain George Chelandarios (Boatman), mentioned among important Athonites in 980, was probably the founder of the monastery, which was subsequently called after him.

The etymological meaning of the name "Hilandar" is possibly derived from chelandion, a type of Byzantine transport ship, whose skipper was called a "helandaris".

The ancient cell of Helandaris was donated by Emperor Alexios III Angelos (11951203) "to the Serbs as an eternal gift..." and Stefan Nemanja established and endowed the monastery in 1198 (before 13 February 1199)

wikipedia

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 470
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aleksandar Dekanski (dekanski) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 176 W: 91 N: 247] (2558)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH