This is the seafront of Chalkida.
Chalcis or Chalkida is the chief town of the island of Euboea (or Evia) in Greece, is situated on the Euripus Strait at its narrowest point. The name is preserved from antiquity and is derived from the Greek χαλκός (copper, bronze), though there is no trace of any mines in the area. In the late Middle Ages, it was known as Negropont (Italian: Negroponte, "black bridge"), a name that was applied to the entire island of Euboea as well.
The town is now connected to the mainland Greece by two bridges, the "Sliding Bridge" in the west at the narrowest point of the Euripus Strait and a suspension bridge.
The Euripus Strait which separates the city and the island from the mainland was bridged in 411 BC with a wooden bridge.
In the time of Justinian the fixed bridge was replaced with a movable structure.
The Turks replaced this once again with a fixed bridge.
In 1856, a wooden swing bridge was built.
In 1896, an iron swing bridge, and in 1962, the existing "sliding bridge".
The construction works of the 19th century destroyed the most part of the medieval castle built across the bridge.
The cable stay suspension bridge which joins Chalcis to the mainland to the south was opened in 1993.
A unique phenomenon takes place at the straits of Euripus. The phenomenon is known as tide. Tides are the rise and fall or water levels. The strait of Euripus is subject to strong tidal currents which reverse direction approximately four times a day lasting for about six hours each. This creates an amazing sight for visitors from all over the world.
Thank you for visiting!
Nobody has marked this note useful