Photos

Photographer's Note

The 6 carved female columns of the Erechtheion temple in Athens are known as "Porch of the Maidens" (caryatids). It was built between 421 and 406 BC and is one of several buildings on the Acropolis behind Athens. One of them was removed by Lord Elgin, in the 19th century and is now in the British Museum. He also removed / stole many of the Elgin marbles from the neighbouring Parthenon building which are now also in the London Museum. The 6th seen here is a good copy. More info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caryatid

ikeharel, jhm, pierrefonds, macjake, ourania has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Chris Jules (ChrisJ) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 10007 W: 992 N: 19070] (96610)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2013-07-17
  • Categories: Ruins
  • Camera: Nikon D 90
  • Exposure: f/13.0, 1/160 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2013-09-22 2:27
Viewed: 1123
Points: 30
Discussions
Additional Photos by Chris Jules (ChrisJ) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 10007 W: 992 N: 19070] (96610)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH