Photos

Photographer's Note

The history of the city begins with the construction of the now-ruined castle by Graf Siegfried of Luxembourg in 964. It received its town charter in 1291. The city has a bell foundry, the Glockengießerei Mabilion, which has been in operation since the 1770s, and as of 2003 the only one in Germany that makes bronze bells.

In 1945 to 1948 Saarburg was occupied by troops from Luxembourg. From 18 July 1946 to 6 June 1947 Onsdorf, in its then municipal boundary, formed part of the Saar Protectorate. French troops complemented the occupation until 1955.

jhm, cornejo, COSTANTINO, dip, ikeharel, tedesse has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 650
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by georg nowak (jurek1951) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2599 W: 167 N: 5652] (41358)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH