Photos

Photographer's Note

The square was created by Johann Arnold Nering at the end of the seventeenth century as the Linden-Markt and reconstructed by Georg Christian Unger in 1773. The Gendarmenmarkt is named after the cuirassier regiment Gens d'Armes, which was deployed at this square until 1773. During World War II, most of the buildings were badly damaged or destroyed. Today all the buildings are restored to their former state. More on Wikipedia

Photo Information
Viewed: 1812
Points: 100
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Gosia Siudzinska (siudzi) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2686 W: 23 N: 4325] (32639)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH