Photos

Photographer's Note

Füssen was settled in Roman times, on the Via Claudia Augusta, a road that leads southwards to northern Italy and northwards to Augusta Vindelicum (today's Augsburg), the former regional capital of the Roman province Raetia. The original name of Füssen was "Foetes", or "Foetibus" (inflected), which derives from Latin "Fauces", meaning "gorge", probably referring to the Lech gorge. In Late Antiquity Füssen was the home of a part of the Legio III Italica, which was stationed there to guard the important trade route over the Alps.
Füssen later became the site of the "Hohes Schloss" (High Castle), the former summer residence of the prince bishops of Augsburg. Below the Hohes Schloss is the Baroque complex of the former Benedictine monastery of St. Mang, whose history goes back to the 9th century. Füssen has Saint Mang (Magnus of Füssen) as its patron saint. His original burial place was in the small chapel he built. His bones were transferred to the crypt of the church built in 850. Around the year 1100 all his bones disappeared

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 766
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Erol Sahin (seyyah81) Silver Note Writer [C: 2 W: 0 N: 66] (536)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH