Photos

Photographer's Note

The Palace Staufeneck (Schloss Staufeneck in German) is in the municipality of Piding in Berchtesgaden. The fortress was built in the 12th century by Burggrafen von Staufeneck. In the year 1307 the castle went into the ownership of the Erzstift Salzburg, under whom it served as one of the maintenance courts in Rupertiwinkel from 1365 to 1805. In 1503, the castle was under Archbishop Leonhard von Keutschach who fundamentally transformed it, giving it its present appearance. Since 1894, the castle has been under private ownership. In the 20th ceuntry, the castle housed a museum. After a complete renovation, it is once again inhabited.

besnard, papagolf21, saxo042, ChrisJ, Romano46, cornejo, tedesse, omid266, COSTANTINO has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: georg nowak (jurek1951) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2558 W: 163 N: 5579] (40949)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2014-04-07
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Exposure: f/5.0, 1/500 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2014-04-07 22:27
Viewed: 390
Points: 36
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by georg nowak (jurek1951) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2558 W: 163 N: 5579] (40949)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH