Photos

Photographer's Note

In 1407 a cemetery was built on a high bank of the Spree, in its area began the construction of the St. Nicholas (Nikolai)church, but it was never completed. Already in 1441 the church burned down, and its reconstruction lasted until 1601. The church was sadly destroyed during the Thirty Years' War, during the siege of Bautzen by Swedes in 1620. It has never been rebuilt and was left as a ruin. Today, this area is used as a cemetery, and the graves are located even inside the ruins.

COSTANTINO, besnard, jhm, timecapturer, cornejo has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 324
Points: 20
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ryszard Michalik (rychem) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 831 W: 0 N: 2004] (20063)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH