Photos

Photographer's Note

the Castle of Chantilly was destroyed with the French revolution, it is Duke of Aumale, fifth son of king Louis-Philippe who made it rebuild (of 1875 to 1885) on his return of exile to install his collections there and thus to found the Condé museum. He give it in 1884 to the Institute of France which was charged to open it to the public after his death (1897) with prohibition to lend the collections. In addition to the paintings, books and various objects there is a very significant collection of old photographs in the museum. More than 1400 pictures which date in majority from second half of the 19th century, one there in particular is certainly the only photography which exists of the tuileries before the fire of 1871.

------

Le Chateau de Chantilly fût rasé à la révolution Française, c'est de Duc d'Aumale, cinquième fils du roi Louis-Philippe qui le fit reconstruire (de 1875 à 1885) à son retour d'exil pour y installer ses collections et ainsi fonder le musée Condé.
N'ayant pas d'héritier, il le légua en 1884 à l'Institut de France qui fût chargé de l'ouvrir au public après sa mort (1897) avec l'interdiction de prêter les collections.
En plus des tableaux, livres et divers objets d'art il y a une très importante collection de photographies anciennes dans le musée. Plus de 1400 clichés qui datent en majorité de la seconde moitié du 19ème siècle, on peut y trouver notamment ce qui est certainement la seule photographie qui existe des tuileries avant l'incendie de 1871.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 3343
Points: 16
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Didier Toulouze (didcreole) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 181 W: 150 N: 120] (962)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH