Photos

Photographer's Note

Fanjeaux (Occitan: Fanjaus) is a picturesque village and commune in the Aude department in southern France. It is located west of Carcassonne. Between 1206 and 1215, Fanjeaux was the home of Saint Dominic, the founder of the Roman Catholic Church's Dominican Order.

In 2008 it boasted some 776 inhabitants who are known as Fanjuvéens. This contrasts with a population of around 2000 recorded in 1793.

In the second century, a fortified oppidum occupied the hill where Fanjeaux is now sited. A pagan cult was celebrated at the site of a spring dedicated to Jupiter, hence the Latin name: Fanum Jovis.

In 1193, the Cathar bishop of Castres, Guilhabert, moved to Fanjeaux. Saint Dominic founded a house of nuns nearby, later affiliated with the Order of Preachers or Dominicans he subsequently founded in Toulouse in 1215.

Between 1209 and 1214, Fanjeaux is the headquarters of Simon de Montfort. The city was destroyed by the Black Prince in 1355 during the Hundred Years War. It will be rebuilt and prospers thanks to the manufacture of pastel.

(Source: Wikipedea)

papagolf21, Noel_Byrne, Royaldevon, SnapRJW, pierrefonds, macjake, ourania has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 556
Points: 26
Discussions
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 6150 W: 61 N: 17890] (80577)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH