Photos

Photographer's Note

In Orléans, to the east of the Place du Martroi is the massive Cathedral of Ste-Croix, on the site of an earlier 10th C. church, part of the foundations of which have been preserved. The building of the cathedral began in 1278 but was several times interrupted and continued into the 16th C. It was badly damaged during the 16th C. wars of religion but was rebuilt in the 17th and 18th centuries on the model of earlier Gothic churches. The west front, flanked by twin towers, has five doorways and much Baroque decoration. The towers themselves are over 81 m/266ft high and are the work of the architect Trouard, although the original plans were drawn up by J. Gabriel. The central spire is 114 m/374ft high and was built in 1858 ..

Photo Information
Viewed: 3884
Points: 168
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Philippe guillard (papagolf21) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 10695 W: 884 N: 20024] (82972)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH